Delayed Gratification

Almost every fall I putter around in the soil , digging holes and dropping in flower bulbs that bloom in the spring.  Many bulbs look similar to an onion, and some are actually decorative members of the onion family.  The transformation from bulb to flower always amazes and delights me.

When I look at the colorful catalogs of fall bulbs, I almost feel like a kid waiting for Christmas.  First I choose the bulbs..tulips, daffodils, hyacinth, muscari, crocus and allium.  Then I plant them, and must wait through the long winter to see what appears in my garden.  When spring comes I am out in my garden daily, waiting for the plants to poke through the soil and bloom.  It is always worth the wait.

 

Leave a Reply

