insomnia

Here I sit. I cannot sleep I do not know the answer. I’m thinking about a million things and waiting for the laundry to be done in the dryer.

I should try to lay down soon, so I don’t feel like crap tomorrow.

I don’t feel tired. I know later when I do, the fatigue will sneak in and fan the flames of depression.

Then I will reach for some sort of caffeinated elixir, and be right back where I started.

If only there was the promise of some exciting dreams once I fell asleep. My last dream was about a snowy parking lot and a truck being stolen. I want my dreams to be more than that!

6 thoughts on “insomnia”

  1. Oh my, yes – I can relate, very much. I’ve been an intermittent insomniac for the last 7 years now, and I saw myself in your post. I could have written it, but you did a much better job 😊

    Fanning the flames of depression, that’s so true, too. Take care of You, my lovely 💞

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I go to bed at about 11pm and get up at 5:30 am, get dressed and take the dogs out. Sometimes I waken at 4(ish) and can’t get back to sleep, so I just get up and either potter about ( quietly) or read a book, then follow routine. From time to time I may wake up at 3(ish) and not get back to sleep and that’s annoying, so I have a slight idea of how you feel, but thankfully this is not very often.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was thinking ( I know, I’ll have a rest) but if you thought of nice things you might have nice dreams, or you could sit and listen to Sinatra. How can you get bad thoughts listening to Sinatra?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it is definitely a good idea to think of nice things or listen to some relaxing music.
      Last night I fell asleep on the couch. I ended up half watching parts a Lords of the Rings movie and then parts of A Clockwork Orange. I’d never seen A Clockwork Orange and for some reason thought it was about space. It was definitely not a movie to induce pleasant thoughts.
      Right now I am waiting for the teen son to get home and then it is off to bed.

      Like

  4. Insomnia is the worst! I can usually fall to sleep with no problem, but if I wake up at three in the morning….forget it! I just spend the rest of the night worrying about things I can’t control.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

