The other day I stopped at McDonalds and ordered not one but two Filet O’Fish.  I’m not sure that I have ever ordered one of those.  I think the old Filet O’Fish might have been on my huge list of childhood foods that I would not eat.  Plus, that or something like it was probably a Lenten staple in my family growing up…my parents knowing I wouldn’t eat one made them twice as likely to serve it for supper.

My tastes have changed over the years, but I have never thought about eating or ordering one.  As I order it, I briefly think of some of the clean eating people I know in real life that tell me such a choice could shorten my life, cause cancer, blah, blah, blah.

I think to myself, there are no guarantees.  Then I proceed to enjoy the bland flavor of the two sandwiches.

Not so bad.

Clean eating can wait until tomorrow.  Right now I want some carbohydrate wrapped comfort.

