Prodigal Daughter

There she is, my sister, whatever she does she consumes my mother’s attention.

Somehow it is silly, isn’t it, to think my mom could change her ways for just a day, and perhaps see that her other daughter might need her mom in some way.

I’m a grown woman.  I should know better by now.  I’ve been caught off guard by a difficult situation.  I need someone to talk to.  Why though at this point should I feel an ache that this person should be my mother?

All of my mom’s energy is yet caught up again in my sister’s addiction.  In a conversation the other day I gave my mom an inch and she took a mile.  A mile to talk about my sister.

I wish my mom’s mind could slow down for just a minute to see past the world of my sister’s life.

 

3 thoughts on “Prodigal Daughter”

  1. I have this issue and my sister isn’t an addict. She’s just better liked. It’s hard. And painful. No one is supposed to love you like your mother. Unless she’s crazy. Mine was crazy. And yours is probably codependent. They know not what they do. But it still hurts. I am sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

