I can’t believe there are only a few more days in 2016.  It seems like the year has flown by!

As a parent, I watched my daughter graduate high school and start her first year of college. Having her leave home to attend college was a parenting milestone that I wasn’t quite ready for, but of course she was.  She made it through her first semester, seems like she is doing well.  I’m thrilled to have her back for break.  I am proud of her, watching her chart her own destiny and taking many steps to be transformed into a full fledged adult.

My son has started high school this fall.  He keeps pretty busy with after school activities and seems to be doing well.  My husband and I feel extraordinarily blessed by our children, we feel that they are more than the sum of the parts who created them.  We are thankful that they haven’t seemed to have struggles that we both encountered growing up.

I’ve been through some ups and downs with my depression.  I hit a very low point this fall. I had a medication change which helped quite a bit.  As 2017 is just around the corner, I am thinking about other things I can do to improve my mood.  I definitely plan on spending more time outside, getting more exercise…sometimes this is a challenge in winter.  Right now I am in the process of seeking a slightly different job at my same employer…I have my fingers crossed. Challenging myself and putting myself out there, exposing myself to risk will be something good, even if I don’t get the job.

November was a hard time, especially in the aftermath of the election.  I feel as if no one is really invested in hearing different points of view.  I had a million things to say but decided to stay quiet because no one wants to listen.

We made it through the holidays.  In the past the holidays, and the demands of extended family, can be stressful.  I watched A Christmas Carol and It’s a Wonderful Life as I always do.img_0050I love the messages of redemption in both of the movies.  If I could go back in time and have been born decades earlier, I would have loved to meet Jimmy Stewart…I’m sure he would had made my heart flutter.

