Why can’t I own my words without regret?

I’m a nurse.  My supervisor has changed staffing policies without telling anyone what was going on.  Fewer people to deal with challenging situations.  There is the potential for even dangerous situations.  I speak my mind in the easiest way possible…via the keyboard.

Venting my concerns gets me nowhere, in fact I find out that things are worse than what I understood as I correspond with two of the people involved.  What is funny is that M, a nurse that I have seen go from brand new grad to someone in a supervisory capacity…..would have protested mightily, and even cried, if someone told her that she would have to work under these expectations.  Now she’s a supervisor….she doesn’t care.

What I don’t understand about myself though, is why I have regret about expressing my concerns.  Is there a part of me doesn’t want to be seen as difficult?  Or maybe I should have thought more on the matter before speaking?  Or perhaps it is the sense of futility I feel about having wasted my effort expressing myself.  Or perhaps I feel as my external facade of having control and a stiff upper lip is starting to crumble and it scares me.

3 thoughts on “Why can’t I own my words without regret?”

  1. Many years ago there was a supervisor where I worked who made a habit of telling people what he thought they wanted to hear rather than what they needed to know. That works – for a while. Eventually he was “moved on”. If your words are spoken in honesty and in truth you should not regret speaking out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I agree that I shouldn’t regret my words but somehow I do. I think it is partly because in the past I have been seen as a better employee for keeping a low profile and not being a “complainer”…which is how my supervisor takes my input.

      Like

Leave a Reply

