I wake up, my hair a tangled mess.  My eyes are barely open, it takes a bit to erase those persistent cobwebs from my brain.

You tell me we are heading to the mountains today.  I love beauty but somehow the idea of staying in bed seems more appealing in that moment.  I don’t voice my opinion though.

We leave for our journey. When the mountains come in view, I am awestruck as always. We keep driving, gaining altitude and navigating tricky curves.

We stop, deciding  to walk for a bit.  A sign tells us we are two miles above sea level.  We start our hike. This particular hike takes us almost to the sky.  We can gaze at other mountaintops some still dusted with snow.

To our eyes the beauty is beyond compare.  The day is deceptively sunny this many feet above sea level, for the wind is cold and harsh.  Our hike has taken us above the timberline where only small delicate plants flourish.

The air is thin.  I feel breathless but exhilarated.  I hope I can remember this day forever.

We drive back to the valley where it feels like summer.

Thanks for taking me to the summit.

 

