This morning I found out Alan Rickman died of cancer at age 69.  This just a few days after David Bowie also died of cancer at age 69.  Two very talented men lost to the world in a week. I read that Alan Rickman had been married to his wife since the age of 19..wow!

Many years ago my grandfather died at age 65.  Back then someone in their sixties seemed quite old to me.  Now as I am older it doesn’t seem so old.  It certainly makes me think about what my genetic destiny might be as far as aging, and what I might do to prolong my stay here on earth.

Alan Rickman had quite a body of work.  Many knew him as Severus Snape in the Harry Potter films.  I’ve watched all of the Harry Potter films at least twice with my kids.  One of my favorite roles though was his portrayal of Colonel Brandon is Sense and Sensibility.  He was dreamy.JAH_Colonel-Brandon-Alan-Rickman-jane-austens-heroes-9173033-1024-576 (1)

