My thirteen year old is having some unexpected trouble in school right now.  His grades in a couple classes have dipped down so far there is a possibility he might not pass a couple of classes.  This seems out of character for him.  We are trying to figure out what is going on.  I’ve been in contact with his teachers, they seem like they are helpful.

I think it is partly laziness and refusal to do the homework as assigned.  Maybe mom and dad will need start imposing more restrictions on screen time.  I hadn’t checked his grades online in a while, so looks like I need to do that more often.  I’m not sure what role lack of understanding plays on his part, but I know he is also reluctant to admit that he needs help and ask for help.

I know how we handle things as parents is important on our end.  Sometimes even though we don’t like to admit it, it is easy to repeat the mistakes our parents made in situations like this.  My parents would have been batshit crazy in a situation like this.  They would have yelled for hours, and then whole affair would have drifted into a litany of everything that was wrong with me.  I hate to admit it but I had this nagging voice in my head sort of urging me to get more angry and drag the talk with my son into a long diatribe.  As circumstances would have it though, when I found out what was going on, I was involved in something else and only had time for a few words, which I hope I managed to keep my composure.  My husband also talked to him as well, he is usually better in these situations than I am.

Crossing my fingers that things get better soon.

