With the prompt “The Outsiders”, we are instructed to talk about a time we felt as if we are on the outside looking in, however we wish to interpret that.  If I haven’t used the words “being an outsider”, I have felt that way many times during my life.

When I was a kid I was very shy.  I don’t feel like I had the feeling of being an outsider though until my family moved when I was in elementary school because of my dad’s job.  Starting at a new school I’d felt everyone had already formed friendships, and that there wasn’t a place for me.  I did make friends, but it seemed to be more of a struggle.  In my young mind the rules seemed different, and I wasn’t sure how to navigate. Understanding a math assignment…no problem.  Understanding the politics of making friends in elementary school…much more mysterious.

I’ve also sometimes felt like an outsider at work.  My current workplace has more cliques than any I’ve seen before.  Brown-nosing and schmoozing with the boss will get you far.   I’m no good at it, but at this stage of my life, I really don’t care.   Make no mistake, I’m perfectly pleasant at work..but that is as far as it goes.  Because I don’t get invested in the politics, I can see how sometimes the schmoozing goes a little too far and often does not end well when the boss delays taking action when one of her groupies is having problems at work.

I’m not as shy as I used to be.  I am an introvert though.  At this point in my life it doesn’t bother me to be an outsider.

