Stay

We’ve been out, just the two of us.  A lovely time. We come home, say good night to the kids.

We go to the bedroom, and close the door.  Afterward, I lay there, knowing sleep will come soon. But then I hear you get up, get dressed again.

Usually is me whose mind becomes restless when it is time for sleep. Tonight it is you.

I want you stay in bed with me. I want to cling to you, to caress your familiar places as we drift off to sleep. To run my hand down your arms feeling your muscles and veins under my fingertips, stopping briefly over that little bit of scar tissue. I want to feel your rough strong hands in mine. I want to feel your warmth and to inhale your scent.

But somehow my brain can’t push the word “Stay” past my lips.

Leave a Reply

