Why do I blog….day 3 of NaBloPoMo

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Million-Dollar Question.”

I’ve done the blogging rodeo before.  In the past my efforts were aimed at a single subject.  Once I blogged about education, another time about family/school nutrition and the last time was a mix of how religion and gender roles intersect.   The last blog I threw in a few more personal posts, but they seemed out of place.

My first attempt at blogging was very short lived.  WIth my second and third attempts though, I’d partly started my blog to have my own place to share opinions about things that I’d read, things other bloggers had said.  I’d found sometimes with the more strident bloggers, they weren’t really interested in hearing your dissenting opinion.  Some even got a little mad if you talked about their blog on your own.

Before I started this blog, I came across one that shared a lot of personal memories, and it really spoke to me.  Reflecting on snippets of my life, in writing, I think will help me gain new insight in to the person I have now become.  This blog isn’t strictly about personal memories though, just whatever pops into my mind on a given day.

NaBloPoMo November 2015

11 thoughts on “Why do I blog….day 3 of NaBloPoMo”

  1. Your justification for blogging is the same as mine. I’m the kind of person that can’ just stick to one topic, so I vary what I write about. I’ve thought about starting a blog that’s all about nostalgia, and then I said “oh well, travel stuff,” but I realized that by giving it the name Allison’s Written Words, it can be about anything I want it to be. Sure, there’s nostalgia as far as the eye can see, but I’ve written about experiences I’ve had, I recap movies and TV shows. Anything is fair game.

    It’s nice to know that there are other writers who have a blog because they have something they just want to write about on one day, and something different on the next day. Life is supposed to involve variety, blogging should too – something for everyone. 🙂

    Have a great day! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Allison..thanks for stopping by and for the comment. Having a single topic blog felt too limiting in the past if you decide you want to post about something unrelated. There are some bloggers out there that do the single topic blogging thing well though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve run into the dissenting opinion problem as well. It is one thing to be disrespectful and damning but another to provide an insightful dissenting opinion to elicit discussion. Some people aren’t open to that and I think view their blog as their means to escape their real lives.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was reading your post about accountability and work. In a similar manner, we now live in a society where anything that is perceived as not agreeable, for any reason, is confrontational and negative. We are more prone to just “going with the flow” and dealing with things. Thus, real issues are never discussed and there is not any accountability.

        Like

  3. I can relate. I began my blog as a place to put my own thoughts about life, controversial issues, family, faith, relationships or whatever came to mind. It didn’t take long for it to evolve into a blog promoting indie authors. Still, I retain at least one day a week for my personal musings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

