People I’ve Met Along the Way

Okay I think I am going to try the thirty days in a row of blogging, or NaBloPoMo as it is called.  I think some of my posts will be memoirs of sorts about people I’ve met in my life.

I was in my freshman year of college.  I went to a party with some high school friends who also attended the same college.  Of course I had a lot to drink.  At that time in my life I was pretty shy, but get a few beers in me and I could be quite friendly.

I see my friend T standing talking to a guy.  T has some sort of connection to everyone it seems.  He remembers people he went to preschool with, people he went to summer camp with, etc.  This guy is someone he went to elementary school with.  His name is J.  I join in the conversation.  I’m instantly attracted to J.  Soon it is just J and I talking.  Everything else around me starts to fade away, the people and the noise.  I think I feel instantly bonded to J.  In our conversations I find out we come from similar families..overly strict ones, that is.  Our dads have similar jobs.  We are even in the same chemistry lecture but at that point we don’t know it yet.

J becomes the first guy to be a real boyfriend to me, I think that is part of the reason he sticks in my mind.  I had terrible luck in high school.  I’m not sure if it is my shyness or the cliques in my high school that were the problem.  But when things turn around upon getting to college, I am oh so happy.

Take the liquor away and we are both much more shy, which I think becomes a bit problematic as time goes on.

I remember him asking me out for a date.  The campus theatre was showing “The Man Who Knew Too Much” with the ever charming Jimmy Stewart and Doris Day.  This was an older movie(with a catchy song) that I had never seen before.  We went with another couple.  We walked in the cool air, along the river to the theater.  I think I was wearing a pink sweater and some dreadful stonewashed jeans.

J had this shy smile that I always remembered.  I remember him losing one of his contacts and looking at me with this cute squinty eyed grin. I think he wore some sort of musky cologne.

 I also remember him having this friend C that hated me before he had ever even met me.  That right there could be a whole post.

I broke up with J at some point.  I’m not really sure why, but I think it partly involved him not calling me enough and me feeling like I was in limbo.  We weren’t done though. We would get back together for short amounts of time for several years.  I’m pretty sure the last time we were together, he was engaged to someone else, but I didn’t know that at the time. For a long time I carried a connection for him.  But the connection we had never  seemed to end up in anything lasting.  Looking back I wonder why we would still get back together..oh the follies of youth.

Leave a Reply

