Carpe Diem

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Young and the Rested.”

Sleep can be elusive for me.  However the days I often feel the most rejuvenated are the days that hold no obligations.  Nothing on the calendar for me or the rest of the family.

These are the sorts of days the kids will sleep a little later and my husband and I can get in some early morning loving.  Afterwards I’ll gladly dirty lots of pans to make a big breakfast.  There will be time to sit outside for a spell and read.

The rest of the day stretches ahead.  Perhaps I’ll take the dog for a long walk.  Or spend time in my jungle of a garden.  Or we’ll all make a day trip somewhere.

Fall is always a busy time for the kids.  Days with no obligations don’t come along often,  Perhaps that is why I savor them more.

At the end of the day I’ll fall asleep satisfied, feeling a good tired, not a weary tired.

Leave a Reply

